TMS and Boreas Introduce The Pack Tester Adventure Team!

Boreas Gear is an exciting new outdoor equipment company that states that “The best gear is neither complicated nor expensive yet as versatile as the person using it.” The undercurrent here is that Boreas has figured out the secret formula for such gear, or, at least, is working hard to find that formula.  How does a new company find the secret ingredients that it needs to be the best? It partners with Tahoe Mountain Sports to put together a pack testing adventure team! This team will be responsible for testing and providing real world feedback on the stylish backpacks. Who are the lucky seven  that have been chosen for the pack testing team, you ask? Let’s meet them, shall we?

Introducing The TMS/Boreas Pack Tester Adventure Team!

Image

Name:  Ted Teske

Pack Testing: Buttermilk 55

“My job required that I travel to some fairly remote and inhospitable location. I’m always looking for gear that can keep my organized and dry in the field and stand up to the not to gently rigors of modern travel. Boreas packs interest me with their flexible and sleek designs that seem to hide rugged construction under well thought out features and aesthetics. We’ll see!”

 

 

Image

Name: Andy Pattison

Pack Testing: Buttermilk 55

“I spend at 2-4 weeks on the trails every year and have become picky about packs and gear. So I am very excited to be a pack tester for the Boreas Buttermilk 55 and am looking forward to checking it out during the second half of my honeymoon this fall.”

 

 

Image

Name: Michael Detwiler

Pack Testing:   Repack 15

“I own a few Dakine packs and they have treated me well over the years. I’m interested in testing out a different brand and see what more modern designs and different manufacturers have to offer. When I’m on my bike the Dakine packs seem to flop around a bit, hoping the Boreas pack fits a bit more snug.”

 

 

Image

Name: Adam Tirella

Pack Testing:  Lost Coast 60

“As someone who works at a job involving the outdoors, being able to play around with new gear is one of my favorite perks. I especially like the opportunities I get to try and support new brands that are pushing the envelope as far as form and function goes. I know firsthand, Boreas is one of those companies!”

 

 

Image

Name: Anne Greenwood

Pack Testing: Lost Coast 60 Women’s

“I am working on completing the Tahoe Rim Trail this summer.  I have been solo backpacking and find my Gregory Pack to be like hoisting a bag of bricks onto my back. I am really looking to lighten up so I can move faster and not feel so broken after 3-4 days. I did get my pack down from 49 lbs (ouch!) to 28 and I think the Boreas pack will get me down to 22….very reasonable load! I may actually be able to bring a stove!”

 

 

Image

Name: Sandy Jean Borden

Pack Testing: Lost Coast 60 Women’s

“I’m a gear junkie! I’m always critiquing and analyzing gear and I’m excited about this opportunity to share my experience with a Boreas Pack. Practicality, durability, comfort and unique features will be what I will be checking out and reporting on!”

 

 

Image

Name: Mike Rommel

Pack Testing: Lost Coast 60

“The reason I would like to test Boreas Packs is that the pack looks innovative in design, contour, and lightweight. I will be testing the pack on a full day high Alpine, Multi-pitch climb in the Palisades at Temple Crag. I look forward to the pack being comfortable with its ergonomic design.”

 

For the next month, these courageous testers will be embarking on grand adventures with their Boraes packs, giving them the ultimate “real world” challenge. Will these packs hold up against the vigors of our  outdoor adventure test team, or will  Boraes  actually wear out our mighty seven? Regardless of the outcome, this test can only make the world of outdoor adventure, a lot stronger.  Stay tuned for the exciting conclusion of the Boraes/TMS Pack Challenge!

See Previous Post “Gear Testers Wanted: Boreas Backpacks”

Leave a comment